golf-forums.net
Promoting golf discussion.

Main
Date: 23 Apr 2007 22:23:05
From: rob classic
Subject: rules help
on the tee, i need to hit the ball in the air 220 to clear lake.

i hit the ball like a bullet, and the ball landed on the hill on the other
side of the lake, plugged, on the hill that connects the lake to the regular
fairway. the ball is exactly 2 feet from the water, on a 7 foot hill
leading to fairway.

i, the amateur newbie, felt this shot would be almost impossible with me and
the ball both landing in the lake if i attempted it, and suggested i just
take a drop. i wasnt allowed, so i miraculously hit it out.

1- could i have taken a drop?
2- if so , would my next shot be my 3rd shot, since the drive was one, and
the drop was 2? or would that be considered a 4th shot?

thanks for clarifying






 
Date: 24 Apr 2007 09:32:51
From: zumafan
Subject: Re: rules help
On Apr 23, 10:23 pm, "rob classic" <1...@1.com > wrote:

> on the tee, i need to hit the ball in the air 220 to clear lake.
>
>
> i, the amateur newbie,

Seriously, as an amateur newbie, you might want to consider moving up
to the next set of tees. A 220 yard forced carry is tough for many
experienced golfers.



 
Date: 24 Apr 2007 03:20:50
From: JohnO
Subject: Re: rules help
On Apr 24, 7:17 pm, sugnabo...@gmail.com wrote:
> On Apr 24, 4:03 am, JohnO <johno1...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>
>
>
>
> > On Apr 24, 2:23 pm, "rob classic" <1...@1.com> wrote:
>
> > > on the tee, i need to hit the ball in the air 220 to clear lake.
>
> > > i hit the ball like a bullet, and the ball landed on the hill on the other
> > > side of the lake, plugged, on the hill that connects the lake to the regular
> > > fairway. the ball is exactly 2 feet from the water, on a 7 foot hill
> > > leading to fairway.
>
> > > i, the amateur newbie, felt this shot would be almost impossible with me and
> > > the ball both landing in the lake if i attempted it, and suggested i just
> > > take a drop. i wasnt allowed, so i miraculously hit it out.
>
> > > 1- could i have taken a drop?
> > > 2- if so , would my next shot be my 3rd shot, since the drive was one, and
> > > the drop was 2? or would that be considered a 4th shot?
>
> > > thanks for clarifying
>
> > Assuming your ball is not in the hazard you just drop it as you can
> > always do this if your ball is embedded in it's pitch mark through the
> > green. Of course it will roll into the water so you drop it again and
> > if it rolls into the water again you get to place it on the spot you
> > dropped it on. If the ball won't stay on that spot because the slope
> > is too steep then I'd have to look up what happens next. I'm guessing
> > you get to drop it in the same type of ground (rough?) nearest point
> > of relief not closer to the pin.
>
> 1. Since the hill "connects to the fairway", the option of dropping if
> embedded is unlikely to be available.

Yes you are correct of course. That "connects to the fairway" was a
strange description but I guess he means the ball is not in a closely
mown area so there's no free relief under 25-2

>
> 2. There's no such thing as rough, in this sense ;-)
>

Sure there is. It's not close mown. Rough.

> > Now ff the plugged ball is in the hazard you can attempt to play as it
> > lies or take a penalty drop within 2 club lengths of point of entry
> > yada yada yada....
>
> 3. Highly unlikely that this is an option, in the scenario described.

Its an option. For all we know the water starts 100 yards from the tee
and it's only a 100 yard carry.

>
> In answer to original question:
>
> 1. Yes (but where to drop depends on some further details).

Assuming he's not within the boundary of the water hazard?
>
> 2. 3rd stroke.- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -




  
Date: 26 Apr 2007 00:27:33
From: Terence Nesbit
Subject: Re: rules help
I don't understand what the "argument" is about. You can always declare
your ball unplayable, which gives you the drop anyway.

And he would be facing his third stroke.

"JohnO" <johno1234@gmail.com > wrote in message
news:1177410050.211268.49620@r3g2000prh.googlegroups.com...
> On Apr 24, 7:17 pm, sugnabo...@gmail.com wrote:
> > On Apr 24, 4:03 am, JohnO <johno1...@gmail.com> wrote:
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > > On Apr 24, 2:23 pm, "rob classic" <1...@1.com> wrote:
> >
> > > > on the tee, i need to hit the ball in the air 220 to clear lake.
> >
> > > > i hit the ball like a bullet, and the ball landed on the hill on the
other
> > > > side of the lake, plugged, on the hill that connects the lake to the
regular
> > > > fairway. the ball is exactly 2 feet from the water, on a 7 foot
hill
> > > > leading to fairway.
> >
> > > > i, the amateur newbie, felt this shot would be almost impossible
with me and
> > > > the ball both landing in the lake if i attempted it, and suggested i
just
> > > > take a drop. i wasnt allowed, so i miraculously hit it out.
> >
> > > > 1- could i have taken a drop?
> > > > 2- if so , would my next shot be my 3rd shot, since the drive was
one, and
> > > > the drop was 2? or would that be considered a 4th shot?
> >
> > > > thanks for clarifying
> >
> > > Assuming your ball is not in the hazard you just drop it as you can
> > > always do this if your ball is embedded in it's pitch mark through the
> > > green. Of course it will roll into the water so you drop it again and
> > > if it rolls into the water again you get to place it on the spot you
> > > dropped it on. If the ball won't stay on that spot because the slope
> > > is too steep then I'd have to look up what happens next. I'm guessing
> > > you get to drop it in the same type of ground (rough?) nearest point
> > > of relief not closer to the pin.
> >
> > 1. Since the hill "connects to the fairway", the option of dropping if
> > embedded is unlikely to be available.
>
> Yes you are correct of course. That "connects to the fairway" was a
> strange description but I guess he means the ball is not in a closely
> mown area so there's no free relief under 25-2
>
> >
> > 2. There's no such thing as rough, in this sense ;-)
> >
>
> Sure there is. It's not close mown. Rough.
>
> > > Now ff the plugged ball is in the hazard you can attempt to play as it
> > > lies or take a penalty drop within 2 club lengths of point of entry
> > > yada yada yada....
> >
> > 3. Highly unlikely that this is an option, in the scenario described.
>
> Its an option. For all we know the water starts 100 yards from the tee
> and it's only a 100 yard carry.
>
> >
> > In answer to original question:
> >
> > 1. Yes (but where to drop depends on some further details).
>
> Assuming he's not within the boundary of the water hazard?
> >
> > 2. 3rd stroke.- Hide quoted text -
> >
> > - Show quoted text -
>
>




 
Date: 24 Apr 2007 00:17:33
From:
Subject: Re: rules help
On Apr 24, 4:03 am, JohnO <johno1...@gmail.com > wrote:
> On Apr 24, 2:23 pm, "rob classic" <1...@1.com> wrote:
>
>
>
> > on the tee, i need to hit the ball in the air 220 to clear lake.
>
> > i hit the ball like a bullet, and the ball landed on the hill on the other
> > side of the lake, plugged, on the hill that connects the lake to the regular
> > fairway. the ball is exactly 2 feet from the water, on a 7 foot hill
> > leading to fairway.
>
> > i, the amateur newbie, felt this shot would be almost impossible with me and
> > the ball both landing in the lake if i attempted it, and suggested i just
> > take a drop. i wasnt allowed, so i miraculously hit it out.
>
> > 1- could i have taken a drop?
> > 2- if so , would my next shot be my 3rd shot, since the drive was one, and
> > the drop was 2? or would that be considered a 4th shot?
>
> > thanks for clarifying
>
> Assuming your ball is not in the hazard you just drop it as you can
> always do this if your ball is embedded in it's pitch mark through the
> green. Of course it will roll into the water so you drop it again and
> if it rolls into the water again you get to place it on the spot you
> dropped it on. If the ball won't stay on that spot because the slope
> is too steep then I'd have to look up what happens next. I'm guessing
> you get to drop it in the same type of ground (rough?) nearest point
> of relief not closer to the pin.

1. Since the hill "connects to the fairway", the option of dropping if
embedded is unlikely to be available.

2. There's no such thing as rough, in this sense ;-)

> Now ff the plugged ball is in the hazard you can attempt to play as it
> lies or take a penalty drop within 2 club lengths of point of entry
> yada yada yada....

3. Highly unlikely that this is an option, in the scenario described.

In answer to original question:

1. Yes (but where to drop depends on some further details).

2. 3rd stroke.



 
Date: 23 Apr 2007 20:03:21
From: JohnO
Subject: Re: rules help
On Apr 24, 2:23 pm, "rob classic" <1...@1.com > wrote:
> on the tee, i need to hit the ball in the air 220 to clear lake.
>
> i hit the ball like a bullet, and the ball landed on the hill on the other
> side of the lake, plugged, on the hill that connects the lake to the regular
> fairway. the ball is exactly 2 feet from the water, on a 7 foot hill
> leading to fairway.
>
> i, the amateur newbie, felt this shot would be almost impossible with me and
> the ball both landing in the lake if i attempted it, and suggested i just
> take a drop. i wasnt allowed, so i miraculously hit it out.
>
> 1- could i have taken a drop?
> 2- if so , would my next shot be my 3rd shot, since the drive was one, and
> the drop was 2? or would that be considered a 4th shot?
>
> thanks for clarifying

Assuming your ball is not in the hazard you just drop it as you can
always do this if your ball is embedded in it's pitch mark through the
green. Of course it will roll into the water so you drop it again and
if it rolls into the water again you get to place it on the spot you
dropped it on. If the ball won't stay on that spot because the slope
is too steep then I'd have to look up what happens next. I'm guessing
you get to drop it in the same type of ground (rough?) nearest point
of relief not closer to the pin.

Now ff the plugged ball is in the hazard you can attempt to play as it
lies or take a penalty drop within 2 club lengths of point of entry
yada yada yada....