golf-forums.net
Promoting golf discussion.



Main
Date: 03 Sep 2006 01:56:22
From: slf1
Subject: Buying equipment from USA


I live in the uk and i'm about to purchase a new set of irons. I was
hoping to save some money by buying online from the US. Can anyone
recommed a reputable dealer and advise as to what the likely import
duties maybe? I have been looking at the Rock Bottom Golf site. Has
anyone any expirence with this store?





 
Date: 03 Sep 2006 08:49:02
From: Michael Anselmo
Subject: Re: Buying equipment from USA


I've dealt with Rockbottom for about 3 years and they have been great. Not a
problem and communications has been good. Their stuff is catch as catch can,
but if you know what you want you can get some good bargains.

I'll give them an A+.

Mike

"slf1" <decky.mcstay@tiscali.co.uk > wrote in message
news:1157273782.832722.28430@p79g2000cwp.googlegroups.com...
>I live in the uk and i'm about to purchase a new set of irons. I was
> hoping to save some money by buying online from the US. Can anyone
> recommed a reputable dealer and advise as to what the likely import
> duties maybe? I have been looking at the Rock Bottom Golf site. Has
> anyone any expirence with this store?
>




  
Date: 03 Sep 2006 13:59:49
From: muk
Subject: Re: Buying equipment from USA


>Their stuff is catch as catch can,

Heya

What does this mean? I have seen this phrase before somewhere I think,
but have no idea what it means.

Thanks

muk.


   
Date: 03 Sep 2006 07:52:15
From: long&left
Subject: Re: Buying equipment from USA


muk wrote:
>>Their stuff is catch as catch can,
>
>
> Heya
>
> What does this mean? I have seen this phrase before somewhere I think,
> but have no idea what it means.
>
> Thanks
>
> muk.

wadda ya? From Canada or somethin'?? eh???
:)


   
Date: 03 Sep 2006 09:12:29
From: Aress Gee
Subject: Re: Buying equipment from USA


muk <mukhp@NOSPAMhotmail.com > writes:

> >Their stuff is catch as catch can,
>
> Heya
>
> What does this mean? I have seen this phrase before somewhere I think,
> but have no idea what it means.

I think the expression is the equivalent of 'hit or miss'
meaning that some of the wares are good and some not.

--


+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Mr. Aress Gee
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


 
Date:
From:
Subject:


 
Date: 03 Sep 2006 05:42:08
From: johnty
Subject: Re: Buying equipment from USA



slf1 wrote:
> I live in the uk and i'm about to purchase a new set of irons. I was
> hoping to save some money by buying online from the US. Can anyone
> recommed a reputable dealer and advise as to what the likely import
> duties maybe? I have been looking at the Rock Bottom Golf site. Has
> anyone any expirence with this store?

Import duty is about 8%. Add that and the shipping costs on, then put
VAT on the lot. A rough estimate for total costs is the purchase price
of the clubs plus a third.



  
Date: 03 Sep 2006 08:09:18
From:
Subject: Re: Buying equipment from USA


Just a suggestion, don't know that it will work, but you might "shop" at
any u s

source(s), going through the ordering routine, up to the point of
clicking on the

order button, and get a delivered price quote on the items selected, i
e, a pro

forma invoice.This should give you an idea of the cost.

>m h o
>=A0v =83e

>=A0=A0=A0=A0=A0=A0=A0u s o - until everyone comes home



 
Date: 03 Sep 2006 07:08:35
From: David Sneddon
Subject: Re: Buying equipment from USA


slf1 wrote:
> I live in the uk and i'm about to purchase a new set of irons. I was
> hoping to save some money by buying online from the US. Can anyone
> recommed a reputable dealer and advise as to what the likely import
> duties maybe? I have been looking at the Rock Bottom Golf site. Has
> anyone any expirence with this store?
>

You might get better answers as to shipping/duties on uk.sport.golf.
I know a few of their posters have bought clubs in the US and either
brought them back to the UK with them or had them shipped.

David


 
Date: 04 Sep 2006 09:08:24
From: Tom K
Subject: Re: Buying equipment from USA


Here's another place. They'll also do phone orders, in fact with phone
orders you can sometimes negotiate things even more cheaply than with an
internet order.

http://www.golfdiscount.com/

You might also ask some of the club makers in the group about whether they
ship overseas. Maybe one of them can make up a set of KZG irons for you.

http://www.kzgolf.com/

--Tom

"slf1" <decky.mcstay@tiscali.co.uk > wrote in message
news:1157273782.832722.28430@p79g2000cwp.googlegroups.com...
>I live in the uk and i'm about to purchase a new set of irons. I was
> hoping to save some money by buying online from the US. Can anyone
> recommed a reputable dealer and advise as to what the likely import
> duties maybe? I have been looking at the Rock Bottom Golf site. Has
> anyone any expirence with this store?
>