golf-forums.net
Promoting golf discussion.

Main
Date: 26 Apr 2007 20:05:10
From: Dene
Subject: Marking the ball with your putter
I could be wrong but I believe it's legal to temporarily mark your
ball (on the green) with the end of one's putter. I routinely do it
if my putt is away. Nobody has complained....yet.

Question...while marking it in this fashion, suppose I touch the ball
with the end of my putter just prior to picking up the ball. Is this
a stroke?

-Greg





 
Date: 28 Apr 2007 15:41:09
From: Ebenezer Scrooge
Subject: Miss Anne - The Video
Miss Anne at the 19th hole - http://tinyurl.com/2bhz7h



 
Date: 28 Apr 2007 13:27:09
From: Dene
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On Apr 28, 5:52 am, High_Colo...@webtv.net (Miss Anne Thrope) wrote:
> And Greg wonders why he never gets invited anywhere...

Good one!

-Greg



 
Date: 28 Apr 2007 08:52:07
From: Miss Anne Thrope
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
And Greg wonders why he never gets invited anywhere...



 
Date: 27 Apr 2007 19:55:08
From: JJVP
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On Apr 27, 4:57 am, "sfb" <s...@spam.net > wrote:
> Many golf shops and stores sell the ROG for $1. Is there an Internet icon
> for I'm a cheap skate?
>
> "Dene" <gdst...@aol.com> wrote in message
>
> news:1177650365.741364.163300@s33g2000prh.googlegroups.com...
>
>
>
> > I gotta be honest guys.....I don't have a copy of the ROG. I rely on
> > my playing partners or the club pro for rulings. What does it say
> > about the putter touching the ball, even moving the ball, while one is
> > *in the process* of marking it, cleaning it, and returning the ball?
>
> > -Greg

http://www.usga.org/playing/rules/books/index.html




 
Date: 27 Apr 2007 13:39:21
From:
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter

Dene <gdst...@aol.com > wrote:


> I gotta be honest guys.....I don't have a copy of the ROG. I rely on
> my playing partners or the club pro for rulings. >

I find it hard to believe that anyone calling themselves a golfer
would not own a copy of the rules, especially someone who seems to be
so contentious as Greg has shown himself to be.



 
Date: 27 Apr 2007 06:05:33
From: RockPile
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On Apr 27, 6:35 am, johnty <john...@hotmail.com > wrote:
> On 27 Apr, 04:38, RockPile <rpyle_1...@yahoo.com> wrote:
>
>
>
> > To answer your second question: No. It will not be a stroke. Ifthe
> > ball moves and comes to rest in another position, it will be a penalty
> > of one stroke and you will need to replace it before proceeding. It
> > will not be a stroke, as you did not fulfill the requirements of a
> > stroke.
>
> > I welcome corrections if I have erred in this analysis.
>
> No penalty either. The ball was moved in the process of marking.
> R20-3a

Yup, my mistake.



 
Date: 27 Apr 2007 03:35:38
From: johnty
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On 27 Apr, 04:38, RockPile <rpyle_1...@yahoo.com > wrote:

>
> To answer your second question: No. It will not be a stroke. Ifthe
> ball moves and comes to rest in another position, it will be a penalty
> of one stroke and you will need to replace it before proceeding. It
> will not be a stroke, as you did not fulfill the requirements of a
> stroke.
>
> I welcome corrections if I have erred in this analysis.
>

No penalty either. The ball was moved in the process of marking.
R20-3a




 
Date: 26 Apr 2007 23:15:22
From: Dene
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On Apr 26, 10:34 pm, Rob Davis <davis....@verizon.net > wrote:
> Dene wrote:
> > On Apr 26, 9:46 pm, JohnO <johno1...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> >>On Apr 27, 3:05 pm, Dene <gdst...@aol.com> wrote:
>
> >>>I could be wrong but I believe it's legal to temporarily mark your
> >>>ball (on the green) with the end of one's putter. I routinely do it
> >>>if my putt is away. Nobody has complained....yet.
>
> >>>Question...while marking it in this fashion, suppose I touch the ball
> >>>with the end of my putter just prior to picking up the ball. Is this
> >>>a stroke?
>
> >>>-Greg
>
> >>There's a PGA tour rule (and probably most pro tours are the same)
> >>that the ball must be marked with a small round object. However that's
> >>not a rule of golf.
>
> >>There's even a decision demonstrating that a putter can be used: R&A
> >>20/1-16.
>
> > I suspect the ruling was favorable because it does speed up play,
> > which is why I do it.
>
> > I gotta be honest guys.....I don't have a copy of the ROG. I rely on
> > my playing partners or the club pro for rulings. What does it say
> > about the putter touching the ball, even moving the ball, while one is
> > *in the process* of marking it, cleaning it, and returning the ball?
>
> > -Greg
>
> The ROG are all on-line atwww.usga.org. From what I can see it's
> perfectly legal to mark with the toe of your putter, and if you
> accidentally move your ball while marking there's no penalty. But you
> could check it out yourself ... see 20-1 and the related decisions.
>
> Rob- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -

Thanks Rob. Whew! I have been careful to not touch the ball with the
putter while marking it but today, while placing the putter toe near
the ball, I nudged the ball. I moved the ball back and proceeded
putting routine, 3 jacking it. My partners didn't say anything but
then again, we were in a team Stableford.

Nonetheless, it bothered me enough to speak of it in here.

-Greg



 
Date: 26 Apr 2007 22:06:05
From: Dene
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On Apr 26, 9:46 pm, JohnO <johno1...@gmail.com > wrote:
> On Apr 27, 3:05 pm, Dene <gdst...@aol.com> wrote:
>
> > I could be wrong but I believe it's legal to temporarily mark your
> > ball (on the green) with the end of one's putter. I routinely do it
> > if my putt is away. Nobody has complained....yet.
>
> > Question...while marking it in this fashion, suppose I touch the ball
> > with the end of my putter just prior to picking up the ball. Is this
> > a stroke?
>
> > -Greg
>
> There's a PGA tour rule (and probably most pro tours are the same)
> that the ball must be marked with a small round object. However that's
> not a rule of golf.
>
> There's even a decision demonstrating that a putter can be used: R&A
> 20/1-16.

I suspect the ruling was favorable because it does speed up play,
which is why I do it.

I gotta be honest guys.....I don't have a copy of the ROG. I rely on
my playing partners or the club pro for rulings. What does it say
about the putter touching the ball, even moving the ball, while one is
*in the process* of marking it, cleaning it, and returning the ball?

-Greg



  
Date: 27 Apr 2007 05:57:53
From: sfb
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
Many golf shops and stores sell the ROG for $1. Is there an Internet icon
for I'm a cheap skate?

"Dene" <gdstrue@aol.com > wrote in message
news:1177650365.741364.163300@s33g2000prh.googlegroups.com...
>
> I gotta be honest guys.....I don't have a copy of the ROG. I rely on
> my playing partners or the club pro for rulings. What does it say
> about the putter touching the ball, even moving the ball, while one is
> *in the process* of marking it, cleaning it, and returning the ball?
>
> -Greg
>




   
Date: 27 Apr 2007 07:38:44
From: FredK
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter

"sfb" <sfb@spam.net > wrote in message
news:GvCdnSQe9uy8VKzbnZ2dnUVZ_jidnZ2d@comcast.com...
> Many golf shops and stores sell the ROG for $1. Is there an Internet icon
> for I'm a cheap skate?
>

Pop for the $15 and join the USGA. You not only get a copy of the ROG
suuitable for stuffing in your golf bag, but a hat for that years US Open.





    
Date: 27 Apr 2007 13:48:44
From: Tom Yost
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On Fri, 27 Apr 2007 07:38:44 -0400, "FredK" <fred.nospam@dec.com >
wrote:

>
>"sfb" <sfb@spam.net> wrote in message
>news:GvCdnSQe9uy8VKzbnZ2dnUVZ_jidnZ2d@comcast.com...
>> Many golf shops and stores sell the ROG for $1. Is there an Internet icon
>> for I'm a cheap skate?
>>
>
>Pop for the $15 and join the USGA. You not only get a copy of the ROG
>suuitable for stuffing in your golf bag, but a hat for that years US Open.
>

And a sticker and personalized bag tag!

Hey FredK, did you also get a copy of the "relaxed rules of golf" you
profess to subscribe to ?

:-)


Tom


     
Date: 28 Apr 2007 09:13:59
From: John van der Pflum
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On Fri, 27 Apr 2007 13:48:44 -0700, Tom Yost <tom@nospamme.com > wrote:

>On Fri, 27 Apr 2007 07:38:44 -0400, "FredK" <fred.nospam@dec.com>
>wrote:
>
>>
>>"sfb" <sfb@spam.net> wrote in message
>>news:GvCdnSQe9uy8VKzbnZ2dnUVZ_jidnZ2d@comcast.com...
>>> Many golf shops and stores sell the ROG for $1. Is there an Internet icon
>>> for I'm a cheap skate?
>>>
>>
>>Pop for the $15 and join the USGA. You not only get a copy of the ROG
>>suuitable for stuffing in your golf bag, but a hat for that years US Open.
>>
>
>And a sticker and personalized bag tag!
>

I didn't get either one of those this year...........
--
jvdp
RSG Cincinnati July 13-15, 2007
http://www.rsgcincinnati.com


  
Date: 27 Apr 2007 05:34:19
From: Rob Davis
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
Dene wrote:
> On Apr 26, 9:46 pm, JohnO <johno1...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>>On Apr 27, 3:05 pm, Dene <gdst...@aol.com> wrote:
>>
>>
>>>I could be wrong but I believe it's legal to temporarily mark your
>>>ball (on the green) with the end of one's putter. I routinely do it
>>>if my putt is away. Nobody has complained....yet.
>>
>>>Question...while marking it in this fashion, suppose I touch the ball
>>>with the end of my putter just prior to picking up the ball. Is this
>>>a stroke?
>>
>>>-Greg
>>
>>There's a PGA tour rule (and probably most pro tours are the same)
>>that the ball must be marked with a small round object. However that's
>>not a rule of golf.
>>
>>There's even a decision demonstrating that a putter can be used: R&A
>>20/1-16.
>
>
> I suspect the ruling was favorable because it does speed up play,
> which is why I do it.
>
> I gotta be honest guys.....I don't have a copy of the ROG. I rely on
> my playing partners or the club pro for rulings. What does it say
> about the putter touching the ball, even moving the ball, while one is
> *in the process* of marking it, cleaning it, and returning the ball?
>
> -Greg
>

The ROG are all on-line at www.usga.org . From what I can see it's
perfectly legal to mark with the toe of your putter, and if you
accidentally move your ball while marking there's no penalty. But you
could check it out yourself ... see 20-1 and the related decisions.

Rob


 
Date: 26 Apr 2007 21:46:41
From: JohnO
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On Apr 27, 3:05 pm, Dene <gdst...@aol.com > wrote:
> I could be wrong but I believe it's legal to temporarily mark your
> ball (on the green) with the end of one's putter. I routinely do it
> if my putt is away. Nobody has complained....yet.
>
> Question...while marking it in this fashion, suppose I touch the ball
> with the end of my putter just prior to picking up the ball. Is this
> a stroke?
>
> -Greg

There's a PGA tour rule (and probably most pro tours are the same)
that the ball must be marked with a small round object. However that's
not a rule of golf.

There's even a decision demonstrating that a putter can be used: R&A
20/1-16.



 
Date: 27 Apr 2007 00:29:35
From: Otto
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter

"Dene" <gdstrue@aol.com > wrote in message
news:1177643109.954830.265390@t38g2000prd.googlegroups.com...
> I could be wrong but I believe it's legal to temporarily mark your
> ball (on the green) with the end of one's putter. I routinely do it
> if my putt is away. Nobody has complained....yet.
>
> Question...while marking it in this fashion, suppose I touch the ball
> with the end of my putter just prior to picking up the ball. Is this
> a stroke?


See Rules of Golf (ROG) 20-1

Otto




 
Date: 26 Apr 2007 20:38:54
From: RockPile
Subject: Re: Marking the ball with your putter
On Apr 26, 11:05 pm, Dene <gdst...@aol.com > wrote:
> I could be wrong but I believe it's legal to temporarily mark your
> ball (on the green) with the end of one's putter. I routinely do it
> if my putt is away. Nobody has complained....yet.
>
> Question...while marking it in this fashion, suppose I touch the ball
> with the end of my putter just prior to picking up the ball. Is this
> a stroke?
>
> -Greg

My understanding is that the rule requires you to mark your ball so
that you can replace it in the same spot. The method is (for the most
part) up to you. If you mark your ball in a way that is prone to
error (small leaf, for instance), you will suffer the consequences of
a poor marking technique, becaue if the mark moves, the method will be
held against you if you use an onconventional marking technique.

When I see someone mark his ball with the toe of his putter, I
generally am comfortable that he is going to replace his ball in a
good spot. I also recognize that if he loses his balance or if
something else were to happen, then he would be at risk of a penalty.

For this reason, and because it is just as easy to mark a ball
correctly, I choose to use a proper ball mark when I mark a ball for
whatever reason.

To answer your second question: No. It will not be a stroke. Ifthe
ball moves and comes to rest in another position, it will be a penalty
of one stroke and you will need to replace it before proceeding. It
will not be a stroke, as you did not fulfill the requirements of a
stroke.

I welcome corrections if I have erred in this analysis.

Rock