golf-forums.net
Promoting golf discussion.

Main
Date: 13 Apr 2007 06:11:05
From: CinderellaBoy
Subject: Clarity on replacing a club
Quick question here - there is an ongoing thread about Tiger and his
3/4i. The discussion revolves around why he did not replace the club
when it broke. I"m unclear on the actual specifics of the rule. I've
seen players break and/or bend their putters in frustration then have
to finish the round without a putter. Is the critical factor that the
club has to be damaged as a result of swinging it? Can you replace a
club that you drop in the water?





 
Date: 13 Apr 2007 09:46:49
From: Tom Yost
Subject: Re: Clarity on replacing a club
On 13 Apr 2007 06:11:05 -0700, "CinderellaBoy" <jbahel@aol.com > wrote:

>Quick question here - there is an ongoing thread about Tiger and his
>3/4i. The discussion revolves around why he did not replace the club
>when it broke. I"m unclear on the actual specifics of the rule. I've
>seen players break and/or bend their putters in frustration then have
>to finish the round without a putter. Is the critical factor that the
>club has to be damaged as a result of swinging it? Can you replace a
>club that you drop in the water?


I think there may be those who contend that breaking clubs in
frustration is "normal course of play" for the game of golf!!
:-)



Tom


 
Date: 13 Apr 2007 11:29:54
From: The Tman
Subject: Re: Clarity on replacing a club
[sorry for top-posting, force of habit]

As the other posters recommended, do take a look at the applicable
rule, 4-3, which covers Damaged Clubs.

A club that is damaged in the normal course of play (and you'll need
to see the Decision 4-3/1 to understand what constitutes "normal
course of play") can continue to be used. Any club whose playing
characteristics have been altered outside of the normal course of play
must be taken out of play.

Putters that become damaged are almost always the result of a player's
frustration with the club. Hence why they are almost always taken out
of play (and not allowed to be replaced/reparied) when their playing
characteristics have been so altered.

-T

On 13 Apr 2007 06:11:05 -0700, "CinderellaBoy" <jbahel@aol.com > wrote:

>Quick question here - there is an ongoing thread about Tiger and his
>3/4i. The discussion revolves around why he did not replace the club
>when it broke. I"m unclear on the actual specifics of the rule. I've
>seen players break and/or bend their putters in frustration then have
>to finish the round without a putter. Is the critical factor that the
>club has to be damaged as a result of swinging it? Can you replace a
>club that you drop in the water?


 
Date: 13 Apr 2007 09:52:09
From: John van der Pflum
Subject: Re: Clarity on replacing a club
On 13 Apr 2007 06:11:05 -0700, "CinderellaBoy" <jbahel@aol.com > wrote:

>Quick question here - there is an ongoing thread about Tiger and his
>3/4i. The discussion revolves around why he did not replace the club
>when it broke. I"m unclear on the actual specifics of the rule. I've
>seen players break and/or bend their putters in frustration then have
>to finish the round without a putter. Is the critical factor that the
>club has to be damaged as a result of swinging it? Can you replace a
>club that you drop in the water?

Here's a link to the applicable rule. You might also look at a couple
of the decisions for some more information.

http://www.usga.org/playing/rules/books/rules/rule04.html#4-3

--

jvdp
RSG Cincinnati July 13-15, 2007
http://www.rsgcincinnati.com


 
Date: 13 Apr 2007 09:22:48
From: Frank Ketchum
Subject: Re: Clarity on replacing a club

"CinderellaBoy" <jbahel@aol.com > wrote in message
news:1176469865.875333.75240@n76g2000hsh.googlegroups.com...
> Quick question here - there is an ongoing thread about Tiger and his
> 3/4i. The discussion revolves around why he did not replace the club
> when it broke. I"m unclear on the actual specifics of the rule. I've
> seen players break and/or bend their putters in frustration then have
> to finish the round without a putter. Is the critical factor that the
> club has to be damaged as a result of swinging it? Can you replace a
> club that you drop in the water?
>

From the rules of golf;
4-3 Damaged Clubs: Repair and Replacement
a. Damage in Normal Course of Play
If, during a stipulated round a player's club is damaged in the normal
course of play, he may:
(i) use the club in its damaged state for the remainder of the stipulated
round; or(ii) without unduly delaying play, repair it or have it repaired;
or(iii) as an additional option available only if the club is unfit for
play, replace the damaged club with any club. The replacement of a club must
not unduly delay play and must not be made by borrowing any club selected
for play by any other person playing on the course. PENALTY FOR BREACH OF
RULE 4-3a:
See Penalty Statement for Rule 4-4a or b, and c.
Note: A club is unfit for play if it is substantially damaged, e.g., the
shaft is dented, significantly bent or broken into pieces; the clubhead
becomes loose, detached or significantly deformed; or the grip becomes
loose. A club is not unfit for play solely because the club's lie or loft
has been altered, or the clubhead is scratched.
b. Damage Other Than in Normal Course of Play
If, during a stipulated round, a player's club is damaged other than in the
normal course of play rendering it non-conforming or changing its playing
characteristics, the club must not subsequently be used or replaced during
the round.
c. Damage Prior to Round
A player may use a club damaged prior to a round provided the club, in its
damaged state, conforms with the Rules.
Damage to a club that occurred prior to a round may be repaired during the
round, provided the playing characteristics are not changed and play is not
unduly delayed.
PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 4-3b or c:
Disqualification.
(Undue delay - see Rule 6-7.)




  
Date: 13 Apr 2007 21:35:33
From: Howard Brazee
Subject: Re: Clarity on replacing a club
I thought I read somewhere that using a club as a cane while climbing
into a bunker and breaking it qualifies as "in the course of play".
Anybody know what this ruling is?


   
Date: 13 Apr 2007 17:43:59
From: Frank Ketchum
Subject: Re: Clarity on replacing a club

"Howard Brazee" <howard@brazee.net > wrote in message
news:kqtv131ffa3kpi2k18p7g2jgem7rth8u9i@4ax.com...
>I thought I read somewhere that using a club as a cane while climbing
> into a bunker and breaking it qualifies as "in the course of play".
> Anybody know what this ruling is?

You are correct;

Decision 4-3/7 Club broken while used as Cane

Q. A player uses one of his clubs as a cane while climbing a hill and the
shaft breaks. May he replace the club during the round?

A. Yes. A club broken in such circumstances is considered to have become
"damaged in the normal course of play" as its use as a cane is considered a
reasonable act - see Decision 4-3/1. (Revised)